Traveling the Multiverse

Aka Ironyca Stood in the Fire – gaming blog

Proudmoore (LGBTQ) Pride Event this Saturday!

I’m a sucker for mass events in WoW.

I also find LGBTQ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer/Questioning) issues to be important, especially due to how rampant the homophobia is, not only in WoW, but in gaming/geek culture in general.

This Saturday I get a chance to combine the two when the Proudmoore Pride Event goes off. It’s a yearly parade that has taken place since 2005, basically 8 years in a row – that is pretty impressive consistency for an in game initiative!

The event includes a duo-faction parade through the North Barrens to Ratchet to end with a party at Booty Bay. Details here.

Looking at pictures from previous years, this looks like a lot of fun!

The WoW Factor has also been invited by the organizers to host a transmog competition at 2:30 pm/server time/PST.

Judging from the size and theme of this parade, I don’t know what to expect in terms of trolling, maybe the worst? At our regular events, we almost always get trolls.

I get the impression some of them care about the competition and find joy in it, but feel the need to hide it under a layer of denial which comes out as trolling, because “it’s totally gay to dress your char up and go to a WoW fashion show“.

Others, I believe, are just bored and don’t give a damn. If it wasn’t this event they were obstructing, it would be roleplayers, or it would be messing up LFG groups, or it would be corpse camping low lvl characters, or it would be typing random crap on the forums. Regardless, the language of trolling is almost always anti-gay.

I’m thinking that since the pride parade has been carried out so many times, the organizers know what to expect, so the event will run smoothly. On the other hand, if there’s something that can bring out all the trolls, this would without doubt be their number one wet dream. But that proves the point of why the Proudmoore Pride parade has legitimacy in the first place!

Even though I’ll be there with the WoW Factor, I intend to join as much of the whole event as possible, I think it sounds like a cool initiative. LGBTQ matters seem to have only one expression in game, and that is as a slur, as a way of expressing disdain. Sometimes it’s as if the only people playing are white straight guys of varying ages, the image the industry worships. One thing is the marginalization of female players, I find any other issue to be even more invisible.

This event is a way to show hundreds of players in support, to raise awareness and to raise the visibility.

As usual I will have to attend on a trial account (as I’m an EU-player) so I’ll have to deal with the speech muzzle, but if you’re going, please whisper me to say hi! Otherwise, I’ll be the low level character dancing alone in the corner, sipping the last drops of my drink and checking the mobile phone I don’t have.

In other words, I would love to see some familiar faces!

15 comments on “Proudmoore (LGBTQ) Pride Event this Saturday!

  1. Vaneeesa Blaylock
    June 13, 2012

    Interesting that you characterize WoW as having a fair degree of homophobia. I could just be ignorant (highly likely!) but I’m not aware of particular racism, misogyny or homophobia in Second Life.

    Interestingly, what I have heard of in SL is discrimination against furys. IDK if you know, but there’s a whole “fury” culture in SL. Apparently they are also mistreated by some contingent.

    I could be misinformed, but going with what I’ve heard for now, it’s “interesting” that even if you’re inclusive of identity A or B or C… it doesn’t necessarily mean that you celebrate all identities.

    I actually just wrote about my RL experience of the Gay White Supremacist who hated me for being Jewish, for Avital Norman Nathman’s “What a Feminist Looks Like” blog series. (oh BTW, she’d love to have other peeps reply to her 5 questions if anyone’s interested)
    http://irez.me/2012/06/07/what-a-feminist-looks-like/

    • ironyca
      June 13, 2012

      I don’t think WoW is the worst place for the nasty stuff, but in general, yeah, game culture is not the brightest of places – click link at your own risk:
      http://fatuglyorslutty.com/

      I can imagine that you are right about SL, that it’s not as grim there. I know about furries, but why they in particular would be targeted in SL, I don’t know why? Since people in WoW can be cats, bears, owls and wolves I guess that the furry kinds are too integral for anyone to take notice or care.

      I’ve heard that LGBT groups have their own internal bickering, they’re not always one unified group, but against heteronormativity they can come together. Isn’t that the crux? We are defined by what we are, but most certainly also by what we are not. Some groups and subcultures out there are pretty much based ONLY in the “what we are NOT” category. Those are usually the most aggressive one’s too, for obvious reasons.

      “What a Feminist Looks Like”-series looks really cool, I would like to participate, would probably fit better on IRez than here actually. My only problem is that I don’t feel like I can express myself that elegantly about it, which really annoys me. But I do have a few stories that could be relevant under that tag, definitely worth some drafting.

      • Vaneeesa Blaylock
        June 14, 2012

        If you feel inclined, you should totally do “WAFLL” and of course, post on iRez by all means. BTW, I really ran on with her 5 questions – most peeps were far more brief.

        Speaking of cool things to fill out, Meandra, aka “Meandr@vatar” started a 20 questions thing not long ago. It’s written sort of for SL, but pretty much applies anywhere.

        Unfortunately, she had a sudden batch of “Good RL News” and left SL unexpectedly and deleted her entire blog! Fortunately, since there was also a copy in my PERSONAL REPOSITORY, the post wasn’t lost. Personal Repositories FTW! :)
        http://irez.me/2012/05/05/20-questions-with-meandra/

        Again, don’t be intimidated – I just blabbed on forever, but most peeps did simpler versions. If you want to fill out either one that’d be cool… OR… maybe… as a sort of “Next Chapter” after NBI… we should take something like Meandra20 and make an all worlds piece that we can send around and have a diverse group of peeps from many worlds answer. 20 questions is kind of a lot, but maybe we could do 10 or 12 for peeps.

        Meanwhile back on posting WAFLL or anything else on iRez, I know you’ve got a full plate plus THIS blog, so I won’t do any bugging for more than your already awesome post. But suffice to say, you’re welcome to post anything you like anytime. No permission to hit the “Publish” button required. And of course you can Reblog or Cross-Post here as you like.

        Oh, and on going the other way — I reblogged a few of your posts from ISITF before your “official debut” on iRez… but now that you’re an author there, I should probably let you control your own destiny. So I won’t reblog from here to there myself… but YOU are totally welcome to reblog anything from here to there anytime you like. I just redid all the categories and we actually have a “World of Warcraft” category now!

        This Gaming-Homophobia post actually fits iRez well, doesn’t it! — haha — besides the new WoW category we now have a new “Feminism” category… and no sooner did I add that than you made your LGBTQ post… so many possible categories out there!

        Oh, you mentioned expression in prose… you never have to wait to hit Publish… but if you ever want me to look at a draft of anything, I’m always happy to help out any way I can.

        Anyway, HAVE AN AWESOME TIME AT THE PARADE!! What a fantastic event!! Looking forward to seeing pix ‘n stuff! :)

  2. tomeoftheancient
    June 13, 2012

    I’m still waiting to hear if we’re celebrating son-in-law’s birthday Saturday or Sunday but if I’m here I would love to come for the Parade and to visit with you, I have a 50/50 chance!

    • ironyca
      June 13, 2012

      *crosses fingers and toes* Would be great to party with you in game TotA!

  3. ironyca
    June 14, 2012

    Reblogged this on I Rez Therefore I Am and commented:

    Virtual World News: This Saturday one of the biggest and most well known in-game World of Warcraft events is taking place. It’s been running for 8 years in a row and celebrates LGBTQ pride – Everyone’s invited!

  4. Ravanel
    June 14, 2012

    This looks like a great event! I’m a bit surprised by you saying homophobia is widespread in WoW/geek circles. My impression has always been that these are more open minded than the average guy. I don’t play WoW myself, however, so I wouldn’t know about that and perhaps I’ve ust been very lucky and surrounded by nice people. Anyway, I hope you’ll have a great event without too much trolling. Enjoy!

    • ironyca
      June 15, 2012

      Thanks for your comment, the event will probably run just fine, sometimes I tend to overestimate how bad something will be.
      Without throwing in a bunch of links, I’d claim there’s a lot of messy issues with gamer culture, homophobia is just one of them.

  5. ironyca
    June 15, 2012

    One of my fears about the event looks to be proven, I knew an event like this would trigger something of the negative sort, just not how much. But yeah, my remark about WoW having it’s issues, the event got coverage at one of the biggest WoW news sites “WoW Insider” –

    http://wow.joystiq.com/2012/06/15/8th-annual-lgbt-proudmoore-pride-celebration-to-be-held-this-wee/

    Comments are turning into a mess, some have already been deleted.

  6. Vaneeesa Blaylock
    June 19, 2012

    while I fidget anxiously waiting for the exciting report…

    The new question is… Will Azeroth make your six!?
    http://irez.me/2012/06/19/gimme-six/

    • Vaneeesa Blaylock
      June 19, 2012

      haha, we talked before about light / dark blog backgrounds… I just clicked my own link above… and what’s really fun is to pop between our blogs and watch the screen strobe from black to white! yay!

      haha – you’re the “dark side!” :P

    • ironyca
      June 19, 2012

      It went really well, will compose an article soon.

  7. Pingback: Picture Report on the Biggest In-Game WoW Event – Proudmoore Pride | Ironyca Stood in the Fire

What's your opinion?

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Archives

