Traveling the Multiverse

Aka Ironyca Stood in the Fire – gaming blog

Going Mog-spotting on Emerald Dream-US

Initially I wanted to go to every server we visited with the WoW Factor before hand and sneak around myself, as I did before we went to Arthas-US. It’s always fun to see someone early and find that they actually turn up later at the event also, which actually has happened! Sadly, I’ve not really had the time to do this more often.

Despite the fact I really should be doing other stuff, all I felt like was a bit of relaxing WoW time, so I went and did it again. We’re going to Emerald Dream tonight, sponsored by Dizzywick‘s guild “Violent Apathy”.

Usually when a guild sponsors, they show up strong both in numbers and in outfits, which has caused silly problems in the past with complaints that it was all set up, and that the guild basically won their money back, as if we are supposed to set a ceiling to how much they are allowed to win. We’ve also had guilds turn up strong in numbers and outfits when the gold came from one individual not affiliated, where they also won a lot, then people claim we are biased towards that guild. We can’t win.

It’s strange, people are hugely obsessed with ideas of us being biased. We’re biased towards blood elves, we hate dwarves, we only like female characters, we’ve been “bought” by a certain guild for the sake of fame and the competition is all rigged. The list goes on.

It’s hugely frustrating and I know the criticism will rain down t0night, of course a sponsoring guild is likely to win a lot, they obviously care about transmogrification and there’s going to be a lot of them. Both me and Noelani actually play with guild tags off because we take screenshots, I often play without any names on at all. In the past I didn’t even know people were from the same guild, and I don’t care, a cool outfit is a cool outfit even though the rest of the guild members are wearing cool outfits too. People are individuals.

Now that I’m done complaining, here’s what I found in the streets of Stormwind:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

12 comments on “Going Mog-spotting on Emerald Dream-US

  1. Vaneeesa Blaylock
    May 27, 2012

    AW C’MON REF — YOU’RE BLIND!!!

    • ironyca
      May 27, 2012

      Both me and Noelani took a color tests recently, ’cause we’ve been disagreeing on a jacket, which I say is green (it’s totally green…) and he says it’s yellow. When I ask around, people say both. So we took the test, I expected to win, and we come out perfectly equal with no color deviations. The argument has not been settled but now I also know that I am not (color-) blind ;)

  2. Matty
    May 27, 2012

    Working in a field where everyone complains constantly, and few do anything, I try to focus on those who do try to move things forward, keep things creative, interesting, and challenging. Keep doing what you’re doing – haters gonna hate, as the saying goes. What drives me bonkers is it’s not like folks are actually building the 3-D models of the clothes/gear themselves- we are all working with a finite palette; an expansive one, but finite. If I could “remog” myself in real life, I’d be tall, long dark hair, and big brown eyes. Oh –cool. Got that. But I still don’t look like Sandra Bullock. Oh well. It is amazing to see what others do–keep providing these venues.

    • ironyca
      May 27, 2012

      What a nice comment! The show went well, but a lot of skepticism along the way, which was expected. But it’s nice to read your comment right now as the show is over, thank you!

  3. ironyca
    May 27, 2012

    For the record, none of these people showed up.

  4. Navimie
    May 27, 2012

    Reading this makes me realise that judges go through the same angst as winners! You know the angst I had and Reading yours makes me think what thick skin and how strong you are to keep doing this when total strangers trash talk at you! I admire yours and noelani’s dedication and btw you both have lovely voices lol!

    • ironyca
      May 27, 2012

      Interesting observation about the angst. We had a few people donate and then we also pointed them out as winners which then made them uncomfortable. It was as if bias was a huge elephant in the room this event. I also understand that people showing up who cares about mogging and about winning, get disappointed when nothing happens, even though we say that we don’t have enough time to talk about everyone, some good ones get overlooked too.
      I really wish I could attend such an event myself as a contestant, just to get a better idea about how it all looks from the other side. I want to listen to the criticism, but often the line between trolling and criticism is so thin, I can’t tell the difference anymore, especially when one person says we don’t value effort enough, and then another thought it was valued too much, hehe.

      But I have to say, while there’s some negativity out there, the positive is very uplifting, so it’s not like any of us are martyrs, haha.
      I’ve concluded that we’ll have to simply ignore the bad (sadly some viable criticism will get lost) and try and make it good for the people who cares and are not just there to complain about everything not being perfect compared to what they expect.
      My comment suddenly grew huge, I guess I got inspired. Thanks for the nice comment and flattering compliment :)

  5. tomeoftheancient
    May 27, 2012

    I don’t think it’s possible to avoid the complaining, I can imagine it gets pretty trying.

    And I don’t know, my husband thinks anything that isn’t dark, dark red is pink, lol, I think we’re seeing the same colors but there must be something else going on as what we end up calling it is never the same. Picking out paint colors when we paint rooms, very interesting!

    • ironyca
      May 27, 2012

      No you are right, and it does get tiring to say the same things over and over. The bias-list I mentioned, every one of them came up, but I forgot which race we presumably hated this time :D
      I have another shirt which is green, which Noelani says is yellow… maybe we’ll have to invent a new word for that-color-which we-cannot-agree-on… “grellow”?

  6. Matty
    May 31, 2012

    Chartreuse?

    • ironyca
      May 31, 2012

      Heh just googled it, funny background story for that color.
      And thanks, Now I think Noelani and I can settle the dispute.

  7. Pingback: Fly Draenei in Stormwind, pt. 1 | Pretty Fly for a Draenei

What's your opinion?

Information

This entry was posted on May 27, 2012 by in Transmog & "WoW Factor" and tagged , , , , , .

Instagram

Blazing hot ceramics, during a raku burning @yonobistudio Pottery class at @yonobistudio Learning festival at Bella Center. Drengen i tårnet.

Archives

