Traveling the Multiverse

Aka Ironyca Stood in the Fire – gaming blog

Transmogrification? I’ll be wearing “Zul’Armani”!

"Jessera's Fungus Lined Vest" & " Azure Silk Pants"

We used to call it roleplay gear, vanity gear or WoW fashion. I’m guessing new terms will arise soon – perhaps “transmogear”?

As many others, this prompted me to immediatly log in to see what I was able to put together. I know a lot of players, whether they were roleplayers or not, have kept large bank collections of old tiers, old PvP seasons, pretty robes, funny weaponry and whatever item we had a connection to.

I’ve kept a few very simple outfits for my shaman, most of which are not possible to transmogrify because they include cloth. The blue outfit to the right used to be my favourite. The vest, a Bloodmyst Isle quest reward, had its beautiful and simple texture changed with The Shattering to a generic brown and gritty leather chestpiece.

Thankfully, I farmed the old Zul’Aman before the instance was removed and got hold of some original “Zul’Armani” from there. It’s tribal, it’s rough, it really suits a shaman.

So this will probably be my transmogear in the future.

Except the shoulders are heirlooms and the original is not available any more – damnit! So I still need to find shoulders and gloves that match the rest.

Frozen Shadoweave

Moving on to my priest, my old friend, my TBC queen. I raided Black Temple and Hyjal with this character so I was expecting her bank to be packed with goodies, old designer clothes picked right off the bleeding corpse of a tier six boss.

As I was rooting around, it became clear this old personal heroine of mine had cleaned out her bags a long time ago.

"Silver-thread"

And then it came back to me, the first few days of leveling through Northrend, bags filling up quickly, a cynical look through the gear collected through 1½ expansion had made me throw out her shadowweave set, the iconic profile of a shadowpriest back then. I had given up a maxed mining skill for tailoring and had spent many hours swimming around Silmyr Lake in Terokkar farming motes of water to be able to craft this set, and I had thrown all this away.

My priest now only has a few recent PvP sets to show for herself, nothing that has any particular sentimental value to me.

Maybe I should just get her the Silver-thread set, a mean staff and sneak around as the shadow of a ninja…

6 comments on “Transmogrification? I’ll be wearing “Zul’Armani”!

  1. Mugician13
    August 21, 2011

    Been enjoying your blog for several months now, and just had to de-lurk to say:

    “Zul’Armani”? Did you come up with that yourself? Because that’s just fucking priceless. Thanks for making me smile.

    • ironyca
      August 21, 2011

      Hey there Lurky
      I did actually, hehe. Thought it was befitting, although I also suspect some might think that I just spelled “Zul’aman” wrong. And thanks for your nice comment, made me smile too.

  2. Syl
    August 21, 2011

    The FSW robe was always very pretty – I remember spotting the model and colors the first time on that Edward the Odd robe and I almost bought it at the AH despite costing a fortune, lol! x)
    Luckily it re-appeared in a pink version some time later. Still have that one in my bank. :)

  3. tomeoftheancient
    August 24, 2011

    I don’t know if you have a Google+ account but just wanted to let you know The Visual Roleplay Gear List is getting coverage there too.

    I guess everybody wants to know how to dress in Zul’Armani!

    • ironyca
      August 24, 2011

      I don’t have Google+ but I can see there’s some traffic leading to visual roleplay gear from there. I hope they don’t get confused when they see there are no articles on Zul’Armani there (yet). However we have lots of coverage for Outland Haute couture.

  4. Ashlova
    August 26, 2011

    I hated going through the agony of trying to decide whether or not to delete gear. I ended up deleting a lot of gear I’d gotten from Zul’Gurub at 70 to make more space and it’s meant I’ve had little reason to favour one server over another in terms of choosing a main. I’m thinking of going for the tough scorpid gear (without the helm), that stuff doesn’t get done justice since by the time people can make it it’s out of date progression wise.

What's your opinion?

Information

This entry was posted on August 20, 2011 by in Transmog & "WoW Factor" and tagged , , , , , .

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Archives

