Traveling the Multiverse

Aka Ironyca Stood in the Fire – gaming blog

Throwing myself to the lions….I mean trolls! – Gender-bending pt. 2

The Gender-bending series is based on the result of my own little survey, attempting to map all the motivations of WoW-players playing a character of the opposite gender. Each part deals with a certain aspect of gender-bending in games.

Part 1: Advertizing the survey
Part 2: Throwing myself to the lions….I mean trolls!
Part 3: The Spectacle of Play and Characters
Part 4: Avoiding Clones
Part 5: To Wear or to Not Wear Robes
Part 6: Bring the Player, not the Gender
Part 7: Uniqueness and the Trademark of the Female Dwarf
Part 8: In Game Advantages
Part 9: For the Love of Names
Part 10: Summing it Up

Forum posting and initial reception

I posted the link here, on my guild forum, on the new EU WoW general and roleplay forum. Got a bit of flame on the two latter (of course), a few really disputative comments as well (this was from someone who hadn’t even done the survey…), and some were posting about how pointless it was to make a survey about this, as “gender didn’t matter” and everything was just pixels anyways bla bla.

A lot seemed to get the impression I wanted to messure identification, as to prove something bad, fearing I was going to reinforce some stereotype. I think the stereotype must have been something like the quote below, but I’m not sure:

Honestly though, the only thing that really bothers me is the seemingly ignorant people who associate characters to their controllers in a big way, for example in one thread it was said that everyone who plays a male blood elf has “underlying sexual issues”. (From the general forum)

What I do know is that this was a far more controversial subject than I anticipated.

The thing that interested me was, amongst others, the great difference between male and females that choose a character with the opposite gender. Males are f. ex. much more likely to “gender-bend” than females, and I wanted to know for what reasons, if there was a difference between the motivations for the two genders, and which motivations ranged higher than others.

The survey is just a tool for me to see in what ways players utilize the character creation options given to them. Which affordances does playing the opposite gender give players, and really, the reasons can be very far apart.

The motivation section in the survey is a conjunction of other surveys I could find dealing with this, and it wasn’t easy trying to cover every option, in fact, most likely I didn’t. My most detailed source deals with only males who play female characters, and I thought it was a shame the motivations females have, were not included, or at all dealt with. This is why I’m digging into the case, attempting to include female players as well.

I have close to 200 responses which I’m happy with, now it’s just time for number crunching.

Thanks for the help I’ve recieved so far!

Part 3: The Spectacle of Play and Characters
Part 4: Avoiding Clones
Part 5: To Wear or to Not Wear Robes
part 6: Bring the Player, not the Gender
Part 7: Uniqueness and the Trademark of the Female Dwarf
Part 8: In Game Advantage
Part 9: For the Love of Names
Part 10: Summing it Up
What's your opinion?

Information

This entry was posted on November 30, 2010 by in Opinion and Discussion and tagged , , , .

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Archives

