Ironyca Stood in the Fire

A WoW blog about Minecraft

The Matrix Unfolding Inside my Computer Game

Meet Bruce and Madeline!

They are both playable robot sims in my Sims 3 neighborhood and have made quite the stir already.

Bruce and Madeline

This picture shows Bruce and Madeline mid-conversation.

Simbots can be purchased using the lifetime happiness points of one of your human sims. They become a member of your household and are meant to keep your sim company.

But Bruce is a total dick! If I leave him wandering around public lots, he will usually get into arguments with other sims. Once he broke someones’ laptop and then just ate it in front of them (he can eat junk as food – literally). He has also managed to kiss both Madeline and his other female roommate Maya and now they both have a crush on him! Would it surprise you if I said his lifetime wish is to see the ghost of his wealthy (and thus dead) spouse?

His traits are:

  1. Inappropriate
  2. Childish
  3. Hydrophobic
  4. Mean spirited
  5. Evil

Yeah, Bruce is just a total dick.

Madeline is the exact opposite, her traits are:

  1. Brave
  2. Ambitious
  3. Great kisser
  4. Hydrophobic
  5. Slob

She wants to become an astronaut.

Currently they both live with the sims who bought them: tech-savvy brother and sister Cee and Maya. But the question is whether these simbots will be satisfied with a life as someone else’s sidekick. I think The Matrix might unfold inside my computer game.

Sims3

Cee and Maya in their house. Cee looks like he may have sensed the upcoming rebellion….

I didn’t design Bruce and Madeline, I didn’t choose their personality traits. These are randomized whenever a simbot is purchased. But since these two robots are such characters, I felt like I found a hook, something interesting could happen here.

Here are the rules for me playing my Sims 3 neighborhood from now on:

  • Aging – ON (this means sims will eventually grow old and DIE)
  • Free will – ON (If I don’t prompt them, sims will find stuff to do on their own)
  • Story progression – ON (Sims can move in and out of the neighborhood, they can get married and have kids. Basically it keeps the neighborhood alive and balanced – stuff happens to your sims even when you’re busy playing another sim)
  • Whatever happens, happens. No reloading of a previous save.
  • Follow the wishes of the sim, letting them be as authentic as possible to who they are.
  • Let their free will dictate their choices sometimes.
The Sims 3 user interface, here with Bruce selected.

The Sims 3 user interface, here with Bruce selected.

Letting the game have a life of its own

I used to play The Sims as a commanding officer running a military unit. Nothing was left to happen at random, there was an end goal with the sims I had created, and I would make sure they would reach it whatever it took. I’ve now let go of my tiger-mom-syndrome and have learned to appreciate events that occur without me dictating them. Letting my sims go through important milestones in their little sim lives without me being there, is provoking to me, but nothing exciting happens under that model of play either. So in a way, this is also an exercise for me to let go of the things (and sims) I care about, in order for them to be more free, dynamic and surprising.

What if Madeline never becomes an astronaut and has a happy fulfilling life? I would hate that, but that is the risk associated with this new play style. Part of me also find it deviously intriguing to see what Bruce will do, and what he will want me to do.

12 comments on “The Matrix Unfolding Inside my Computer Game

  1. wowstorylines
    February 26, 2014

    I’m definitely a Sims player. I’m not quite ready to let them grow old and do things that they shouldn’t, like die. Love the game and love the story progression that takes on it’s own life though.

    • Ironyca
      February 27, 2014

      Urgh, I hate when they die as well, especially when you’re not even around when it happens. That’s the hardest part about leaving aging on.

  2. Zeirah
    February 27, 2014

    I haven’t played the sims 3 in a long time, as i type though it’s installing on my computer again, I want to go have a play now :). The simbots – I don’t remember them though; is there an expansion I need to buy to access them?

    • Ironyca
      February 27, 2014

      I have the Ambitions expansion, and simbots come with that. But if you feel like playing it a little unconventionally, you can also play as ghost-sims.

      Here’s a link to a sim wiki, which go further into detail.

      http://sims.wikia.com/wiki/Ghost

      (scroll down for info about ghosts in Sims 3)

      It’s something I’d like to do myself sooner or later, I have no specific plans on how to do it though.

      • Zeirah
        February 27, 2014

        Oh cool thanks for that, I have the world adventures expac here and another one that is hiding somewhere, I’m not 100% sure what it is, fingers crossed it will turn out to be ambitions when I find it lol.
        I’ll go have a look at that wiki – ghost sims sounds interesting.

      • Zeirah
        February 27, 2014

        ooh , i found it and is ambitions. I remember why I didnt play this, I bought both the sims 3 and the wow battlechest at the same time and I got so hooked on wow that I never got around to playing much of the sims.

        • Ironyca
          February 27, 2014

          Haha, both are time consuming games, sometimes one has to choose!
          I’d be interested to read along if you choose to write about your Sim adventures, simbot or ghost :)

          • Zeirah
            February 27, 2014

            lol tbh I’m planning the blog post in my head as I wait for ambitions to install :).
            I tend to write mostly about wow with a smattering of other games in there. Since I haven’t been on the Sims for years it will definately get a mention.

            I would like to do what you do and turn aging on and allow my sims to progress when I’m not around but I’m not sure how I would go with that; I tend to be a micromanager when I play. I’ll get in installed and see how I go :)

            • Ironyca
              February 27, 2014

              I’m definitely a micromanager as well (such a suitable word for describing one’s game style in Sims, by the way!). I’m getting anxiety just thinking about how wrong everything could go when NOT in control. So this won’t be easy for me, yikes.

              Looking forward to your post!

  3. tomeoftheancient
    February 27, 2014

    I’ve never played Sims but I have to admit having a bad robot is appealing to me!

    • Ironyca
      February 28, 2014

      Oh dear, I’m slightly frightened by him actually.

  4. Pingback: My own universe | A is for Azeroth and Z is for Zeirah

What's your opinion?

Information

This entry was posted on February 26, 2014 by in The Sims and tagged , , , , , , , .

Instagram

LEGO Mindstorms. I'll be playing with this thing tomorrow! My walk home !!!

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

