Ironyca Stood in the Fire

A WoW blog about Minecraft. And games in general. And avatars. And Life online. And…

Now I am Technologically Homeless

My laptop, and only computer, has died.

It couldn’t detect a hard drive. Breaking into my laptop to re-insert it did not help. Based on the noise it’s making, we suspect one of the mechanical components of the hard drive is stuck, and now I am technologically homeless.

*small violin*

As a temporary solution, we went and purchased a new screen and set it up with Noelani’s old computer on the dining table.  Since my computer was a laptop, I had a bit of a strange setup. It was positioned on a small café table on wheels in front of our IKEA sofa, where I was able to comfortably sit while playing … talk about a lazy gamer…

But now I’m sitting at a real table, with this horrible clicky keyboard and nothing feels right. Playing WoW doesn’t feel right, internet browsing doesn’t feel right, and the biggest crime of them all – this computer is less powerful than my old one – eew!!

We also lost everything I had done on WoW Roleplay Gear since Christmas, which had not been published yet. I had done a lot of quest reward sets, which I now have to start over with. All my personal stuff is gone, I have a 6 month old backup of my school folder and blog folder, but that’s it. I’ll have to look into maybe having the disks taken out and put into a new drive, but it’s looking really pricey.

Okay, calling it being technologically homeless is an exaggeration. After all, I am using Noelani’s old computer. Maybe it’s more like sleeping on your friend’s sofa, and you miss all your own stuff, even though your host is being perfectly hospitable.

In closing, I’ve put in an old picture I saved from once WoW Model Viewer was being really buggy. I thought the effect was interesting and saved a bunch of pictures of misshapen blood elf females. Every other race did not display this error, but thankfully blood elves are such talented models ;)

WoW Model Viewer gone MAD

WoW Model Viewer gone MAD

5 comments on “Now I am Technologically Homeless

  1. Vaneeesa Blaylock
    March 8, 2013

    aww, so sad! :(

    Not to… you know… rub salt in the wound… but while we’re thinking about it… yes, of course, backups are a good idea… beyond that…

    Lots of peeps with big online VW footprints seem to be in mediocre financial shape, and certainly the many grad students are undoubtedly “starving students.” So buying stuff is very often no easy task. So this advice is really “when possible.”

    I guess we don’t have 2 cars or 2 houses, just in case one breaks down, but cave divers do carry THREE flashlights because the risk of 1 or more breaking down is too costly. With laptops, “when possible” they should be replaced more often than essential so that if (when) your new one breaks down, and you have to use the old one, the “old one” is only 3 or 4 or 5 years old and not 6 or 8 or 10 years old. Desktops do crash sometimes, but laptops are a lot more prone to problems. Having spares isn’t always easy, but it’s super-valuable if you can find a way to pull it off.

    If you wind up getting a new laptop, and this one is non-negotiable, no matter how poor you are, no matter how much it costs, you must get a solid-state drive! The speed difference between solid-state and spinning hard disk is nothing short of shocking. You will live a better life! Plus they crash less.

    Having large, cheap, external HDs is a decent way to back up lots of content. But you can also take advantage of Flickr, YouTube/Vimeo, and WordPress to keep tons of content in the cloud. The chances of them losing your data, while I suppose never 0, are always less than the chances of you losing your data.

    I don’t “store” any “docs” on my desktop or laptop. If it’s text I work in wordpress, if it’s a spreadsheet etc, I work in Google Docs. (Drive) I never use MS Office or Open Office.

    Beyond the unlimited space you can have on Flickr, Vimeo, wp.ORG, you can also keep a few handfulls of GBs of anything you want for free on DropBox, GoogleDrive etc.

    And while losing old libraries is a way traumatic thing (*sniffle*) we’re always so busy moving into the future, that archives and libraries aren’t generally as critical as we think they are.

    Anyway, SO SORRY to hear this news! :(

    But you DID get thru your thesis first, that’s kind of something! And considering that, it’s a pretty nice moment to think about, uh, “more hygenic” data practices. Needless to say, typing out this advice you never asked for is causing me to think about how much stuff I have squirrled away here or there and might lose at one point or another.

    haha, on of the “best” ways to lose stuff is bad organization! :P I’ve got it… I just can’t find it…

    If there is a new laptop in your future, I hope you can get a solid state drive, it still blows my mind how fast my, now year old, laptop starts up.

    Your WoW Model gone MAD is freaking awesome!

    • Ironyca
      March 10, 2013

      I hear you, I just need to get a job first :D

      I also heard that Intel has stopped producing desktop motherboards, everything is going mobile, and one day, the machine is just an empty shell pulling all the juicy bits from the cloud.

      About the thesis, I made two backups of that every time I closed my laptop down. The thesis was a life and death matter to me O_O

      And if you say my LIFE will be better when getting a solid state drive, I shall take your advice!

  2. tomeoftheancient
    March 9, 2013

    I’ve had this happen a few times and I always feel so betrayed. I used to be good about having everything backed up on external drives but when my backup drive died I decided to leave it in the hands of the Gods, lol. I feel your pain!

    • Ironyca
      March 10, 2013

      Your back up dying is just so evil. My loss could have been worse. When my last laptop completely died (it was fortunately insured though, heh) I cried about it, that was a complete wipe. This time I lost less, thankfully.

  3. Mugician13
    March 31, 2013

    I’ve never seen a blood elf with a goiter before….

What's your opinion?

Information

This entry was posted on March 8, 2013 by in Personal and tagged , , , , , .

Instagram

Christmas dinners Old computer science textbook from The Old Town in Århus, '74 section. Wore dark lenses on Halloween to see how my colleagues reacted. My natural eye colour is blue. Some didn't notice anything different. Some could barely look me in the eye, cause it freaked them out.

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

