Ironyca Stood in the Fire

A WoW blog about Minecraft. And games in general. And avatars. And Life online. And…

Midnight Release

Two days ago I walked down to my local Blockbuster and reserved a physical copy of Mists of Pandaria. Beforehand I had checked several online services but decided it was more reliable to go myself and pick it up at midnight.

On the way back I was reminded of the release day of Wrath of the Lich King. I had done it the same way and remembered how it felt standing in line in the store, which was practically full of devoted WoW fans. (The only reason Cataclysm was different was because I was too busy on release day, so I bought it several days late)

I know a lot of people have bought the digital download, it’s easy and convenient, but I want the box too. Soon it’ll be like a souvenir to have all that old-fashioned wrapping, I’m sure. Maybe in the future the only way to get the “full package” is by buying collector’s edition.

In my world, there’s also another plus. The thrill of suspense as you stand in line, one by one the other WoW players leave the store with sparkly eyes. Soon you’re one of them.

I also get to sneak a peek at all the local players, people I have no idea who are, they live near me, we share the same hobby, but we are strangers. It’s an odd feeling, but standing in a room surrounded by them, I feel part of something bigger, I get a glimpse of a tiny slice of the online community as it appears when we all “play our human mains”. Or you could say that cross realm zones exist in the offline world too…

And then I will go home, log in to the new expansion and play while still high on that buzz.

Happy expansion day everyone!

6 comments on “Midnight Release

  1. mataokashaman
    September 24, 2012

    Well, I shall meet the expansion with work and then familiy responsibilities almost every day this week, so the revolution will have to start without me! This is a delightful post, and I adore the images! Happy Expansion Day to you, too!

    • Ironyca
      September 24, 2012

      I was delayed last time, it was not hugely distressing, or maybe my memory fails me :D

  2. Vaneeesa Blaylock
    September 24, 2012

    So what’ll it go up to now? Level 90? And when you get to Level 100 does the universe explode? Pandaria snakes Rohan by 3 weeks, wow!

    • Ironyca
      September 24, 2012

      Level 90 will be the new cap up from 85. It starts in less than 5 hours for me! So excited!

  3. tomeoftheancient
    September 24, 2012

    I would really love, just once, to do this. Unfortunately I don’t even buy my clothes in person anymore. Besides I’d scare the bejeezus out of everyone there in person. OMG, SHE plays, lol. Probably they’d think I was buying it as a present. Anyway, I got some of the feeling I’m missing from your post!

    • Ironyca
      September 24, 2012

      I’ll keep an eye out when I go soon, I don’t expect my local WoW community to be that homogenous though – we’ll see :)

What's your opinion?

Information

This entry was posted on September 24, 2012 by in Personal and tagged , , , , , .

Instagram

Christmas dinners Old computer science textbook from The Old Town in Århus, '74 section. Wore dark lenses on Halloween to see how my colleagues reacted. My natural eye colour is blue. Some didn't notice anything different. Some could barely look me in the eye, cause it freaked them out.

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

