Ironyca Stood in the Fire

A WoW blog about Minecraft. And games in general. And avatars. And Life online. And…

The MogOlympics Games have Drawn to a Close!

I’ve really wanted to be the spectator/participant for a transmog competition, and MogOlympics certainly delivered. I originally wanted to participate myself, but found I didn’t have enough time to get all the mogs done by deadline. However, I was still royally entertained and when looking through the links up above, it’s clear just how much work, effort and skill went into the whole event!

It’s a lot of fun to see what can come out of mogging within a restraint, and some people were able to convey fx fencing so well, you could see what they were going for without knowing the category – that was really impressive and I had my jaw drop several times!

Top Medal Winner! Lower City aka Draynee!

A huge congratulations goes out to Draynee! (Click her link to also see her amazing fencer!)

And a final thanks goes out to everyone involved, especially the judges for their initiative and all the effort they have invested into this!

6 comments on “The MogOlympics Games have Drawn to a Close!

  1. tomeoftheancient
    September 6, 2012

    It was fun to have you as a spectator! Also a little nerve-wracking, on occasion I thought, “What would Ironyca think?” I finally stopped second guessing myself because there were so many entrants I had to get on with “What do you think?” And the blog with all the entrant was a complete surprise! I don’t know how JD got all that done.

    • Ironyca
      September 7, 2012

      I mean, it can take me an hour to write a single blog post, but the MogOlympics had 47 participants, you guys looked over SO many mogs and all the work, I’m not exaggerating when I say I’m impressed with the effort!

      Hehe, I’m glad you stopped second guessing yourself :)
      It’s funny, in my own eagerness to be more open-minded I’ve also tried to see certain mogs from other’s point of view, but somewhere down that line, you begin to judge things from some generalized viewpoint and then it’s as if -you- as a judge falls behind.
      I think when you have several judges, like you guys did, your personal opinion should prevail in the sense that in conjunction with the other judges’ personal opinions, you’ll reach some overall result that I think reflects a general opinion anyways, because you all represent a variety of viewpoints. Regardless, you did a great job! :D

  2. JD Kenada
    September 7, 2012

    It’s funny you mention the “someone else’s perspective.” There were times during the judging where I would be put off by something visually, but then stop and look at it less from my personal tastes and more on a level of flow, execution, and overall build. In doing so, I found outfits I personally didn’t LIKE still did well and I think that’s important to be able to achieve as a judge.

    Thank you for the kind words and for following along. :)

    @Tome
    You should have seen the original pages I designed for the faction pages. They were much more of a blueprint style look…and I’d be lucky to finish two in a week. I realized no way could I pull that off in time, so I switched to the end result that is the “official website” instead. Much more time efficient and I STILL didn’t get everything done.

    • Ironyca
      September 8, 2012

      I agree, you can build a mog in the Northrend color schemes of brown and grey and STILL end up with a good mog, even though it’s not shiny and pretty to most people.

      In the beginning of doing WoW Factor we also realized that some sets just take more time to bloom. it would always start with one of us saying “I keep coming back to this one” and sometimes talking things over between us, and having the person point out fx symbolism or something else, helped this process along. If a certain person keeps popping, it’s because there’s something there that might not be immediately obvious.

  3. prettyflydraenei
    September 7, 2012

    Thanks Ironyca :) It was fun to see your thoughts after each round. Much like Tome, I have on occassion found myself wondering “What would Ironyca think?”

    @JD I found putting personal taste aside was the hardest part of guest-judging the WoW Factor show. There’s so many people, so of course the visually pleasing outfits (and Draenei…) are going to pop out first at you. Luckily, the first round was a good length, gave me time to settle in and find the unusual outfits that may have been ugly, but flow and execution were wonderful (creepy Murloc helm guy, lol!).

    • Ironyca
      September 8, 2012

      Creepy murloc helm guy was awesome, I love quirky stuff like that too! We also had a creepy troll executioner wearing the geist headpiece once.

What's your opinion?

Information

This entry was posted on September 6, 2012 by in Transmog & "WoW Factor" and tagged , , , , .

Instagram

Christmas dinners Old computer science textbook from The Old Town in Århus, '74 section. Wore dark lenses on Halloween to see how my colleagues reacted. My natural eye colour is blue. Some didn't notice anything different. Some could barely look me in the eye, cause it freaked them out.

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

