Myths and Urban Legends in WoW – The Secret Cellar

  • Myth: There’s a secret wine cellar at the Gallywix Pleasure Palace

The reason I came up with writing this post is due to this one phrase that has kept appearing as a search term. People out there wants to know about “secret wine cellar Gallywix Pleasure Palace” and search engines lead them to me. It drives me crazy, I’ve read and read and everything has led to a dead-end. I have gone to the Pleasure Palace every time I saw the search term, thinking I must have overlooked something, I just needed to look for hidden doors or gaps, it had to be there!

If I google this myself, I would find a link to Wowpedia saying this:

“The palace has an ocean view, grenade golf course, a secret booze cellar, a luxury pool, and a sauna. The booze cellar is not seen in the game.”

This information comes from a short story called “Trade Secrets of a Trade Prince” written by Gavin Jurgens-Fyhrie, where the palace is described as having a booze cellar, but of course the online WoW doesn’t always correspond. So there’s basis for assuming it would be there when all the other cool pleasure features are. (I must say though, that short story does sound awfully relevant to any self employed auction house mogul!)

This inspired me to go look for more myths and urban legends in WoW, and there are many of varying themes from how to acquire certain items, to misunderstandings on how fx resting and healing works.

Generally I get the impression that the majority of these stories arose in original WoW (aka “vanilla”) in a time where players were learning and building the vast amount of knowledge about the inner workings of this world, that we now have come to take for granted.

I intend to expand upon this collection of myths and urban legends as I go along and manage to find them scattered around the web.

They’ll all be added on the overview page.

11 responses to “Myths and Urban Legends in WoW – The Secret Cellar

  1. Even though it’s not there I now have an overwhelming desire to go look for it! I’ll let you know if a trap door opens and I fall into a cellar.

    • I KNOW!
      There’s not much indoor space to be searching in, but do report back if you find anything before getting too drunk on Gallywix’ stash.

  2. Wow, this brings so many things to mind! Because SL is known for “building stuff,” I tend to think of UGC (User Generated Content red.) as a chair or a lighthouse or something… but of course, FanFic is UGC also. It’s really powerful “well we showed up on this beach… we’re stranded on this island… might as well weave some culture…

    And I guess the stories we tell are an amalgam of many things… the individual personas of the tellers to be sure… but also a response to geography… to the nature and needs of the community… there could be life parables woven in… etc…

    But really it’s the heart of UGC. Philip Rosedale’s SL insight when he was at Burning Man in one of the most barren places on earth… was that he didn’t have to build a world full of stuff… he only had to make blank space and tools, and people would do the rest.

    This on the other hand is equally interesting in that if you go the other way, if instead of blank space you offer a rich canvas… and less obvious “building tools,” that peeps will still, after a while, start to make the place their own.

    And if you think about us wandering thru some old abandoned warehouse… you might be a little creeped because it reminds you of that place you fell and cut your leg… I might be nostalgic because it might remind me of the place where I had my first kiss… and it might inspire Moni because it reminds her of the place where she stole 1,000 meters of conduit and built that crazy sculpture out of it.

    I also love that you’ve somehow become a sort of non-authority authority on the non-existent cellar. Next time maybe you should “Emperor’s New Clothes” run with it! :D

    • “he only had to make blank space and tools, and people would do the rest.”
      – this phrase reminded me a lot of Minecraft. That’s exactly how that game feels.

      “Next time maybe you should “Emperor’s New Clothes” run with it! :D”
      – Hehehehe, others have clearly done this, and it is tempting to weave a bit of story and see what happens.

      Fun fact: In terms of gaming myths, game companies have sometimes responded to these myths by actually implementing them. And for all I know, maybe one day, a world designer will add a booze cellar, as I wrote on Irez Gallywix Pleasure Palace might not be at its final stage, we don’t actually know.

      • Honestly, what kind of self-respecting MMO-ROLE-PLAYING-GAMER when asked “tell me about the wine cellar” — says “Oh, I don’t think it exists” When everyone knows IT IS THERE, but… well… THE ENTRANCE IS INVISIBLE IF YOU AREN’T AT LEAST LEVEL 90!!

      • oh also… “gaming companies respond…”

        As I understand it, back in the day, Xena: Warrior Princess developed a sizeable lesbian fan community… and I think the show peeps sort of walked the line… not making any definitive statements… but throwing that fan sector the sub-textual tid bit from time to time…

  3. I am really excited to see what you find out in your investigation!

    • I have a few ready for publishing in the drafts folder already. It started as a normal post months ago, but it took me ages to write because new stuff kept coming up so I decided that if I EVER wanted to get this out and not have it be a huge loong post, doing it this way will work better.

  4. Pingback: When There’s Nothing to Say … « Tome of the Ancient

  5. Pingback: The Number One Search Term on my WoW Blog is… “Minecraft” | Ironyca Stood in the Fire

  6. Ooh, this sounds interesting, I like what you’ve done so far :)

What's your opinion?

