Ironyca Stood in the Fire

A WoW blog about Minecraft

WoW Factor on Home Realm – WHAT AM I GOING TO WEAR???

This Sunday the WoW Factor is going to the home realm of Noelani and I, Argent Dawn EU.

BUT WHAT AM I GOING TO WEAR???

I’m not very confident in my own personal mogs, what I see at the WoW Factor events always surpasses my own collections. Damn, I can’t hide behind a level 1 this time!

These are my choices

My Guild Tabard Mog. Weapons were just what I could find in the bank. They are a bit simple, but I don’t mind that. I’m trying to get “Mantle of the Desert’s Fury” from AQ. They look much like the ones I’m wearing, but the shape is more spiky.

My tier 10 shaman mog. I don’t know what happened to my green boots “Shuffling Shoes” from Icecrown. They fit so well, but I couldn’t find them in my bags. The boots in the picture are substitutes until I solve this hoof problem.

The mog I ran around in to begin with. It’s not a head turner and the staff doesn’t fit theme-wise. I have several nice shields and a dagger to go that matches way better.

This variation on the Ebonhold set was something I assemble from what I had in the bank and I didn’t even realize that it’s actually moggable. I’ve never used this mog, but I like how the mask makes her look more fierce.

Then again, the event is not about me and what I’m wearing, but about the people showing up, so dressing like the bridesmaid and not the bride, is probably a good demonstration of situational awareness.

Thus maybe I should wear a roleplay outfit!

It feels like such a silly thing – Not knowing what to wear in WoW?! I’ve never had that dilemma before.

I really like the tribal looks you could and can get from Zul’aman. This robe was from Zul’aman at lvl 70, but it’s cloth so I can’t mog it, and I don’t have it on my priest, who even raided the place. If I could mog outside of mail, this robe would be among my top choices.

For fun I could wear this! The pouch could symbolize us handing out gold. Technically, though, I will not be the one handing out the gold, Noelani will. A camera would be more suitable for me, I’m responsible for the screenshots.

Before Transmogrification came out I would occasionally wear this, it’s been my non raid set for a long time and I still keep it around. Hmm, I think I forgot to put on my shoes in the picture.

I am both thrilled and so, so scared about going to our home realm. You really want the best experience for everyone when it’s on your own turf.

Last time we went to a roleplay realm was Emerald Dream US and they were very brutal. Argent Dawn is the oldest and biggest roleplay realm on the EU side. Big realms means higher chance of trolls. On top of that we’ve been warned from several individuals that hosting the event on our favorite spot, the Cathedral, might cause additional problems of attracting these trolls. Supposedly we’d be right in their backyard.

So we went out and visited the other capitals, and can only conclude that there is a very limited number of locations that will work. It’s funny how aware of the game space you become in these circumstances – there has to be enough room, lighting has to be as close to white as possible, no mounting and within trial account reach. On Alliance side you pretty much end up with Stormwind Keep, the Cathedral or Ironforge Library to choose between.

At the same time of being nervous of how my realm will receive us, I am absolutely excited because I know that we will see some amazing stuff. I have already collected some pictures from mog-spotting, and some roleplay outfits too, which I will post tomorrow.

18 comments on “WoW Factor on Home Realm – WHAT AM I GOING TO WEAR???

  1. Vaneeesa Blaylock
    July 7, 2012

    hahaha, OMG, you’ve been doing WoW Factor so long it’s actually, finally come to you!? AND NOW you don’t know what to wear?? Ah ha ha ha… what a problem to have!
    #BeCarefulWhatYouWishFor

    Oh well, everything up there looks great. I vote, of course, for the rabbit ear’d one since that’s the look you had when you took us on the epic field trip.

    And you should totally reblog this at the other place, we need to have incriminating info like this at out fingertips!

    • ironyca
      July 7, 2012

      I’m so pathetic.
      If you turn it around though, you could say that if you worked anywhere within the fashion industry, people would expect you to dress nicely. Maybe some people will be looking at my gear and question my credentials at an event where I know others will be showing extremely good mogs, hence my insecurity.

      • Vaneeesa Blaylock
        July 8, 2012

        aww… just be like an “artist” and wear black… no one can question that!

        hmm… wonder if Jackie Graves has delivered any of those new “Graves Gravity” suits to Argent Dawn yet…

  2. Monerda
    July 7, 2012

    I am a total transmog n00b but I had no idea that you are restricted to certain types of gear. Shame really because I would vote for the Zul’aman as my top pick too. Lol of course if I had that gear I could being a “clothie” :)

    SO I choose the Ebonhold mail. My shaman are all Draenei save my new dwarf Dar, and no way a Draenei is gonna look other than fabulous no matter what she’s wearing.

    Have fun on Argent Dawn and can’t wait to see the WoW Factor pictorial.

    • Ironyca
      July 8, 2012

      Another good thing about being draenei is that when you take in game screenshots, you get the best angle, because draenei are so tall.

      • Monerda
        July 9, 2012

        lol yep. The only downside to being Draenei and so tall is not being able to get through doorways :D One time I got stuck inside Stormwind Stockade, I IMed a GM who suggested that since I was a Shaman, I should shapeshift into Ghost Wolf else I might still be there :P

  3. tomeoftheancient
    July 8, 2012

    I like them all but the bunny ear outfit is the definite winner to me!

    • Ironyca
      July 8, 2012

      I’m glad you are that sure about the bunny set :D Makes my decision easier!

  4. Cymre
    July 8, 2012

    I like those troll dresses too (too bad I still don’t have mine) but I agree, the bunny one with the pouch is a good option – even if you’re not technically the one handing out the gold :)

    • Ironyca
      July 8, 2012

      Yeah, bunny ears had a theme, more fun than the others I suppose.

  5. kamalia
    July 8, 2012

    I really like the red and gold one with the guild tabard at the top. The Ebonhold set with the T8 shoulders & hat and the bug mace & shield is really nifty, too.

    • Ironyca
      July 8, 2012

      Thanks Kamalia. Yeah I thought a lot about wearing the guild themed set, it’s quite low key in a way.

  6. I love that Zul dress on a Draenei, and your Ebonhold set is pretty fly! :D That is a tough decision though, I am so used to the judges being lvl 1’s, I would go for something simple.
    Your fashion industry comment made me laugh. I used to work for a “fashion” company in the design department, and me and the rest of the girls usually just wore jeans and t-shirts. Unless we were wearing something we produced, we weren’t nearly as stylish as people prob expected.

    • Ironyca
      July 8, 2012

      Thanks for your comment, I’m glad to hear the opinion of a draenei expert ;)

  7. Matty
    July 8, 2012

    That Zul one –made me stop breathing…amazing….lovely no matter the occasion! Big hugs of encouragement!

  8. Pingback: Mog-spottting and Roleplay Gear Scouting on Argent Dawn | Ironyca Stood in the Fire

  9. Ironyca
    July 8, 2012

    It looks like Ebonhold bunny year costume is what I’ll be wearing. It’s black like a “real artist”, and it’s got a silly fun vibe to it, yet it’s not all over the place.
    There’s a chance that no one will realize that my shaman is me anyways, haha. My shaman’s name is Ibi, but everyone will be referring to me as “Ironyca”. People will have to stay sharp to point me out as Ironyca in the crowd.

What's your opinion?

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2012 by in Transmog & "WoW Factor" and tagged , , , , , , , .

Instagram

My walk home !!!

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

