Ironyca Stood in the Fire

A WoW blog about Minecraft. And games in general. And avatars. And Life online. And…

The WoW Ironman Challenge – Level 40 Status

I know the surge of the Ironman Challenge has not been new and exciting for a long time, yet I am still happily playing my ironman character Elford. He’s a side project really, sometimes I get bored of him, sometimes I log in and thoroughly enjoy playing him, sometimes I just don’t have much time to play WoW, so he doesn’t move forward very fast.

On Difficulty

Elford has reached level 40, however the secret is that it happened months ago and that I am far behind portraying his story.

He is currently lvl 49, but I am holding off with lvl 50 until I have caught up here.

When reading the status post at lvl 30, I sound like I am not intending to level him much further and that I don’t see him going into Outland.

But these 10 levels changed a lot. While getting out of Stranglethorn and into the thirties, the difficulty somehow went down into comfortable – not easy, but comfortably difficult. I still go to zones 6-8 levels below Elford’s level, mobs are green, so that is fine. The only issues I may have is evaluating how hard a quest-boss or rare elite will be. They vary a lot in strength, but I have not had issues to the degree of Chief Gaulus (in STV) and Grand Magus Doane (in Redridge) again.

When Elford ran into Hagg Taurenbane, a rare in Southern Barrens, I had to try my luck. It’s the thing with rares, you just have to try. Both Taurenbane and Elford were the same level, but his hp was 3 times higher – facts that made me expect certain death.

To my surprise, I managed to get him! I was so proud and so was Elford.

Of course if you read on Wowhead, you’ll learn that lots of people solo him at 23.

Elford has since killed several rare elites, so difficulty is now scaling better, he will surely go to Outland, although I suspect he might have to be lvl 65 or so to tackle it.

On Sub-Goals

Because I didn’t see Elford going far, I had made the sub-goal of reaching exalted with Stormwind, which was also tied into Elford’s storyline.

Finding a good sub-goal that has a shorter horizon than lvl 85 worked well to keep my motivation going, especially when fx lvl 40 is no longer a milestone the way it used to be. Now you don’t get any fancy new spells, you don’t get riding at that level anymore (’cause you got that at 20 instead), nothing happens! Level 50 does promise me the spell Mirrior Image, which both Elford (and especially I) will be looking forward to. But that’s why reaching exalted with Stormwind was really nice timing.

However, it also posed a challenge in the narrative. Why would Elford keep leveling as a mage, now that the initial reason no longer exists? He will need to have along thought about what he wants for the future and where his life is heading. Finding a new sub-goal would also be a good idea.

- Next episode: Equal Amounts of Stubbornness and Desperation
– From the beginning: Elford the (former) Executive and the Ironman Challenge

10 comments on “The WoW Ironman Challenge – Level 40 Status

  1. tomeoftheancient
    June 25, 2012

    Maybe Elford would like the “of Stormwind” title to go along with his exalted status, it’ certainly suits a former executive!

  2. Vaneeesa Blaylock
    June 26, 2012

    There’s an Ironman Challenge? Like the Ironman Triathalon? SEE old news over here… but poor, isolated, uninformed Vaneeesa is totally out of the loop!

    And poor Elford having to do all that laundry while the ugly step-former executives have fun without him!

    Hope there’ll be a synopsis of all this Ironman stuff for the 2-noob-2-even-B-A-noob crowd! Oh, and Elford in porcelain? :P

    • ironyca
      June 26, 2012

      The last picture is of Elford in 3ds Max POSED! (with a sketch effect on) Hehe I rigged him, I wanted to do facial animation too, but apparently you’re supposed to do that before you body-rig. So… I guess I can port him into SL and attach some animation to have him walk.

      The Ironman Challenge is old news, yes, people have already done it even in so called hardcore mode, where you can never die. Otherwise you are just crippled so to speak, purposefully weakened to provide extra challenge.

  3. kamaliaetalia
    June 26, 2012

    Hmm, before he gets to becoming “Elford of Stormwind”, I don’t suppose there are some new business opportunities in Outland that he might want to explore? It might not be a bad idea for him to get on the good side of the Consortium.

    • ironyca
      June 26, 2012

      Ooooh, good idea!
      I think this is going to get easier than I thought.
      Thank you!

  4. Anonymous
    June 27, 2012

    And how about the ‘they love me in that tunnel’ Achievement? The Timbermaw give you a trinket (http://www.wowhead.com/item=21326) where you can summon a shaman, that gives you some healing potential. Or get the nurse trinket (http://www.wowhead.com/item=56849) from Tanaris. Getting on the good side of the steamweedle cartel is always good buisness :)

    • ironyca
      June 28, 2012

      Oh yes, Steamwheedle, he should need exalted with them. Takes a lot of work though and I would have to be high enough level to be able to solo Dire Maul on top of being an ironman (only white/grey gear and no spec), OR kill kill and kill a ton of pirates. Hmm, yes I’m intrigued, it makes perfect sense!

  5. Vaneeesa Blaylock
    August 10, 2012

    I know this was a while ago… but anyway… does that photo up top show Elford with 4350 Experience Points? And Level 40? As a resident in a non-gaming MMO I’ve never actually understood the diff between Experience Points and Levels…. can you explain? Why do I “need” both?

    Thankies!

    • Ironyca
      August 11, 2012

      4350 was the total amount of experience points that Elford received for completing this one quest.
      When you reach a certain amount of experience points, you go to the next level. So imagine this loooong line of experience points that just accumulate as you complete quests and kill monsters. Along that line, there’s several markers of a level, say the first at 50 experience points. But then the distance grows exponentially, so for the next level you’ll need more than you did before and so on. So the higher level you get, the longer it will take you to get to the next level (this is actually one of the mechanisms in WoW that has been compared to a Skinners Box). The amount of experience points a quest will give you follow along, so you also get more experience from completing quests at higher levels.
      I have a feeling I explained something really simple in an overly complex way, haha!

What's your opinion?

Instagram

Old computer science textbook from The Old Town in Århus, '74 section. Wore dark lenses on Halloween to see how my colleagues reacted. My natural eye colour is blue. Some didn't notice anything different. Some could barely look me in the eye, cause it freaked them out. This book has been recommended to me by several people. Time to get started!

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

