Picture Report on the Biggest In-Game WoW Event – Proudmoore Pride

Proudmoore Pride is a yearly LGBTQ parade and one of the biggest in-game events in WoW hosted on the Proudmoore US server. I went along this year, and thoroughly enjoyed it.  However, this tale is best told in pictures. Below is a gallery in chronological order:

  1. The Parade
  2. The Booty Bay Party
  3. The Drag Contest
  4. The WoW Factor Show

A few remarks on trolls: There were not that many, not anywhere as bad as I thought it would be, it’s a good thing to be wrong about!

14 responses to “Picture Report on the Biggest In-Game WoW Event – Proudmoore Pride

  1. That looked like a great event and heaps of fun!

    • I enjoyed the whole thing, especially the drag contest. It’s nice being able to sit back and enjoy someone else’s organized events. I wish there was more stuff like this actually.

  2. Great pictures and I watched the Livestream of the transmog event so I at least got to see it even if I wasn’t there, really enjoyed it, especially the Demon Hunter!

    Proudmoore really knows how to throw a party!

    • The demon hunter was great, his choice of daggers were really good with the remaining outfit. I didn’t mind that he didn’t have the quintessential demon hunter pieces – glaives and cursed vision, his outfit was strong in so many other ways.

      And don’t worry about missing events :) except for if we ever go back to Earthen Ring, that is one not to miss ;) If you alt there, you could even participate, ooooooh!!!

      Otherwise I can also recommend 21 July 2012 – Kargath EU Alliance, it’s a German realm! Haha, not sure how well that will work, but I do intend to brush up on my ancient old amateur German skills.

  3. It was a fun event, and I really enjoyed seeing the transmog contest ( My shaman was just in her sorta ugly leveling gear just watching and felt drab) . the parade and the fact that the Pride event could even happen in the game made my heart feel all warm and happy.

    • Yes, you could tell they had done it before, the parade felt organized and not left to end up in chaos. Didn’t feel dominated by trolls either, which was my fear, so I’m happy too :)

  4. WoW!! So many awesome pix! So much awesome action! SO MANY AVATARS!!!

    Also, I love that you used the WordPress “Gallery” feature. I don’t think it’s actually a “new” feature… but I’ve started to use it a lot more lately – it’s such an easy, nice, way to look at a set of images.

    • I HATE the gallery feature. I’m forced to express myself in tweet long sentences, otherwise the text disappears under the frame. BAD gallery, BAD.

      My old post about going to Utrecht had a gallery too, but back then the gallery would open inside the full length of the blog theme, and underneath the picture, I could write an essay accompanying each picture if I wanted.

      Now that old gallery is completely broken, people can’t read the picture text, because it extends below the frame and the gallery doesn’t adjust. I refuse to go back and edit that old post, grrrrr.

      • what? what? What idiot said they LIKED this terrible feature??? Certainly no one I know!!! O_o

        • Hahaha, if you have pictures that need no description or only needs a title, it’s fine.
          If you struggle to express yourself properly through Twitter like me, then the WordPress life can be hard :P

      • Actually, the thing that this brings up is that even though WordPress is Open Source and Automattic may be less greedy than other platform providers…

        Every platform “improvement” changes something… probably makes someone happy… probably ruins someone’s day…

        We don’t want things to NEVER change… my abacus skills were always weak, I’m glad I don’t still have to balance my bank account with one…

        Even HTML itself changes… but if you’re writing your own website in a text editor or Dreamweaver or something… you have a fair bit of control (although YOUR 2012 “improvement” might break your own 2010 content just as “well” as Automattic’s improvement.

        There’s no perfect answer… if you go into great-grandpa’s treasured movie closet, you might find that the cyan dyes of yore faded a lot faster than the other dye colors and all the pix look like red blobs on the screen now…

        The Web2.0 world gives us so much power… but our power is standing on small blocks of wood… floating in shark infested waters…

  5. Damn, I wish I still had a sub just so I could go to this. It looks like a lot of fun! I’m glad this event went off without a hitch and with more joy than expected.

  6. Pingback: You can be whoever you want to be. « A High Latency Life

What's your opinion?

