Ironyca Stood in the Fire

A WoW blog about Minecraft. And games in general. And avatars. And Life online. And…

Frozen in Porcelain

Ironyca:

Ooh, I get to reblog myself!

I wrote this post about bringing WoW characters into a 3D modeling program, re-skinning them and hopefully also in the future posing them, as a contributing author on “I Rez Therefore I Am”, a virtual world blog. I feel like a virtual studio photographer when making these 3ds Max renders, it’s a lot of fun.

Check it out if you want to see a few WoW characters in a whole new way, outside of their natural habitat.

Originally posted on I Rez Therefore I Am:

Human female from WoW reinterpreted in 3ds Max

About 3 weeks ago, I handed in my 3D character Carl Fredricksen from “Up”. I didn’t expect 3ds Max to stick with me, I thought I would leave 3D modeling behind, but the prospect of importing other characters I knew, characters/avatars from WoW, and deconstructing them, seeing them in a new light, meant that I’m still occasionally fiddling with the program.

The picture above is a human female with the bun hairdo. I stripped her naked i.e. I took away her original texture. I gave her a glossy crystal material as hair instead. Her skin has a white slightly matte surface. As the rendered picture show she doesn’t smooth that well, but the result of that import error is still quite interesting. Our avatars are made up of polygons, little faces that all combine into a larger mesh. They are normally…

View original 388 more words

3 comments on “Frozen in Porcelain

  1. Vaneeesa Blaylock
    June 7, 2012

    you model your own avatar in virtual cut paper, dream of importing to other worlds, now you post on other blogs, reblogging yourself on your own blog…

    Gawd! You’ve gotten SO META in your old age!! :P

    Aww, and THANK YOU so much for the guest post, it’s totally freakin awesome!

    • ironyca
      June 8, 2012

      Meta! I should name a character “Meta”! The name is probably taken, but it would be a cool one to have ;)

      Thanks for featuring me, my article came out just right on the clean white museum walls on irez.me

      • Vaneeesa Blaylock
        June 8, 2012

        hahaha, so iRez is the white cube on the hill… overlooking the gritty Stood in the Fire of the metropolis below? :)

        And THANK YOU! My head is spinning with exciting possibilities now!

What's your opinion?

Information

This entry was posted on June 7, 2012 by in 3D Modeling, Second Life and tagged , , , , .

Instagram

Christmas dinners Old computer science textbook from The Old Town in Århus, '74 section. Wore dark lenses on Halloween to see how my colleagues reacted. My natural eye colour is blue. Some didn't notice anything different. Some could barely look me in the eye, cause it freaked them out.

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

