Ironyca Stood in the Fire

A WoW blog about Minecraft. And games in general. And avatars. And Life online. And…

Cataclysm Gear Journeys – Then and Now

There’s a few memes out there right now, but one of them flagged a little project of mine which I had to re-conceptualize when Transmogrification came out. Vidyala wrote an article on Manalicious titled “Then and Now” about comparing an old screenshot of your character to a new one, and this had me look at my old project again.

When Cataclysm went live, I decided to take a screenshot every time there was a change in my characters’ gear. Every expansion has a certain aesthetic and I wanted to capture the aesthetic of Cataclysm-gear. I thought of the changing look of my characters as a “gear Journey”.

There’s a good chance, that if you leveled through Outland pre-mogging, you will have suffered a mild trauma from being forced to look like a harlekin clown for 12 levels straight. Since Outland, leveling gear is more uniform, but often also a smudge of brown and grey. Regardless it’s still fun to see the changes as you move from a scrappy looking lvl 81 to a nicely matching raiding set at 85. It tells a very “material” story about what you did and where you’d been with your character.

Of course then mogging came out and it’s no longer required that we wear our fighting equipment. We can now fight in our ball gowns!

So the gear journey I was hoping to capture ended, but a new began. Surely we’ll all keep reassembling our mogging sets too, as we gain more clothing, new gadgets and weaponry.

Therefore here’s the Cataclysm gear journey of a few of my characters, short as it is. Besides the mogging sets, there’s also a few of my vanity sets that are sadly not moggable, but part of my collection anyhow.

9 comments on “Cataclysm Gear Journeys – Then and Now

  1. Vid
    March 3, 2012

    Ahh, I love it! I wish I’d thought to do this, what a great idea. It’s fascinating to see the gradual changes in gear as you upgraded. :D

    • ironyca
      March 3, 2012

      How I wish I had done this from the very beginning – imagine it through vanilla, through Outland, the “gear journey” could have been so much longer.
      Anyhow, it’s something I will try and do with new alts in the future. Thanks for commenting Vid :)

  2. tomeoftheancient
    March 3, 2012

    What a great idea, enjoyed the show. And I have to admit when I saw the Harlequin Clown shot I had mixed emotions, horror, lol, and then nostalgia for BC, nothing says BC like a clown suit!

  3. Navimie
    March 5, 2012

    Ohh nice trip through the ages there Ironyca. I see a very nice elegant robes on your priest – A very nice piece indeed!

  4. Leihar
    March 5, 2012

    Great idea – we all see that our looks change, but I for one can’t remember what I looked like two days ago. The disease got a “formal” name too: Outlands Clown Syndrome :)

  5. Cymre
    March 6, 2012

    Love the chronicle of images. I wish I had done the same for mine :)

  6. Monerda
    March 12, 2012

    My absolute favorite is your 85 priest pic :-) Stunning gown!

    • ironyca
      March 13, 2012

      I love it too, it’s called “Elegant Robe“. I got it as a gift a long time ago. It sells for a lot on the auction house, so when transmogrification came out, I knew I had to make good use of that robe, one way or another. I’m still trying to get pieces that fit it well.

  7. Pingback: Then and Now Update « Manalicious

What's your opinion?

Information

This entry was posted on March 3, 2012 by in Opinion and Discussion and tagged , , , , , , .

Instagram

This book has been recommended to me by several people. Time to get started! Roskilde LEGO Mindstorms. I'll be playing with this thing tomorrow!

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

