Ironyca Stood in the Fire

A WoW blog about Minecraft. And games in general. And avatars. And Life online. And…

The 6th Shot (The WoW Screenshot Meme)

I was tagged by Jaedia and Kamalia to post a screenshot following these rules as stated by the birth-father Gnomeageddon:

  • Go into your image folder
  • Open the sixth sub-folder and choose the sixth image.
  • Publish the image! (and a few words wouldn’t hurt, though I dare say I couldn’t stop a blogger from adding a few words of their own).
  • Challenge six new bloggers.
  • Link to them.

An excuse to post random pictures? Oh yes, I’m in! In fact, I took the liberty to post a few more that in some way adheres to the sixth rule.

The Sixth Image in the WoW Screenshot Folder

Apparently this screenshot was taken 1/1-11 at 20:22, a date that would satisfy anyone with an OCD for numbers.

Special WoW points to anyone who can spot me in the picture and bonus points to anyone who can also guess the location.

The Sixth Image in my Sixth Folder under my Image Folder

This is a picture of a cat taking a shower – a cat-shower. It’s a picture my mom sent me also about a year ago of their new cat Max.

Max was bought from a animal shelter, a “second-hand-cat”. He had been treated well by his previous owner, he wasn’t very old and now he needed a new home. The personnel at the shelter advised him to not be co-adopted with his sister, apparently she bullied him.

When my parents had visited the shelter to find a cat, Max had been very forthcoming and had put his pawn on my moms shoulders. When my mom told me this, I thought she was probably over-romanticizing, but when I met Max myself, he crawled directly onto my lap and purred, she had not been exaggerating. This was was the most loving and cuddly cat I had ever met, so trusting. He would cuddle up against their guests and the guests would instantly fall for him, everyone loved him. I recall my mom saying that she was afraid to lose him now, she had really lost her heart to Max, understandably.

A few months later Max doesn’t come home. He is castrated and has an ear tattoo (instead of a collar), there’s no reason he would stray nor that people should think he was a stray. My parents started to worry. They scouted the area and put up fliers without result. My mom’s fears had come true.

Max had just disappeared, and we have not seen nor heard of him since. He was extremely trusting of people he had never met before, so we don’t know if anyone picked him up and tried to re-adopt him, we’re fairly certain they could succeed. I think my parents got burned a little, they have still not acquired a new cat.

:(

The Sixth Image in my Sixth Folder under my Blog Folder

Hee hee, I pulled a blog specific picture too since I thought I would definitely be able to say something about it and here it is – my character in Blue Mars.

Blue Mars was a virtual world similar to Second Life, but as far as I know, they have closed down. I went there as part of a field trip with a group of Second Life residents, the organizer Vaneeesa Blaylock being a (mostly Second Life based) performance artist.

Everytime I’ve been to Second Life I’m reminded that they have the luxury of surnames. Blue Mars had surnames too, so I was not just Ironyca, but Ironyca Lee – yeah! If we had those in WoW, we would be able to actually spell each others names (Perhaps Hölipoowër and Dèæthfacé could have had an easier time).

Adding this picture to make a point. This was one of Vaneeesa's screenshots - Look at my avatar! LOOK - She is seriously disturbing! I'm glad she didn't have a voice, I don't ever want to hear it, *hides under blanket*.

My field report was written from a WoW-player’s perspective: WoW meets Blue Mars – about the Avatar Gaze.

It was a fun trip, slightly psychedelic as the pictures suggest – my character had a crush on me, I swear! If I turned my viewing angle in front of her, she would turn her head and look at me, often swaying back and forth changing pose while smiling flirtatiously. A so-called “out-of-avatar experience”.

Six Links

I went through my reader and tried to tag bloggers who have not yet been tagged.

  1. Döra’s Log (I’m a huge fan of Döra… Döra are you still with us?)
  2. Raging Monkeys (Love Syl’s writing)
  3. I Rez Therefore I am (Hey, since I mentioned Vaneeesa, I might as well attempt to spread the meme to Second Life)
  4. In Character (Recently subscribed)
  5. Too Many Annas (Recently subscribed)
  6. Cofessions of a Part-time Panzerkin (Recently subscribed)
18 comments on “The 6th Shot (The WoW Screenshot Meme)

  1. Rades
    February 20, 2012

    OMG that expression. SO SCARY. O_O

  2. tomeoftheancient
    February 20, 2012

    What a great shot, I hope someone knows where it is, I don’t.

    I check Döra’s blog daily hoping she’ll return. Döra come back!

    That was such a sad story about Max, but thank you for distracting me from it with that incredibly scary Avatar! If I close my eyes I still SEE YOU STARING AT ME!

  3. Vaneeesa Blaylock
    February 20, 2012

    Blue Mars is still there (last time I checked) they just, uh, ran out of money or something, and stopped development. Essentially a “death” but I think you can still visit.

    They took their last bit of money and went a totally different way… an iPad app that interfaces with Google StreetView… so your avatar can go knock on the door of Linden Lab in San Francisco… or Blizzard Entertainment, wherever they’re located…

  4. Navimie
    February 20, 2012

    Those avatars are… scaring my daughter! “Why is she looking at me? She is looking at me! Stop looking at me!”
    And what is that awesome wow picture? I can’t seem to place it.

  5. Vaneeesa Blaylock
    February 21, 2012

    hahaha – we should drop back to Blue Mars sometime for another visit with… THE STARING AVATARS!

    • ironyca
      February 21, 2012

      Are you sure, I mean, that screenshot where Ironyca Lee looks her absolute most obsessive was yours. I’m fairly certain she’s got a crush on me, but judging from your screenshot, I’m not sure I would feel safe around her if I were you ;)

  6. Vaneeesa Blaylock
    February 21, 2012

    oh, and on a mostly unrelated note, we’ve launched the Polymorphic project. DJ Haraway has been created in SL. You can type for her sometime if you like, and it’d be great to have your pilot the WoW version.

    We’ve decided to make the barrier to entry as low as possible, so we’re not asking peeps to join anything or to use a calendar or blog… it’s just Go… Do… post pix on Flickr…

    So, DJ’s Flickr group will be the “corporate newsletter” that lets peeps in the various far-flung offices keep on top of our “corporate mission”

    http://www.flickr.com/groups/dj2012/

    • ironyca
      February 21, 2012

      Reserved the name on the Vashj server, not sure yet how I want the WoW version to look like, but I like the idea with a picture and a few words on Flickr!

      • Vaneeesa Blaylock
        February 21, 2012

        Awesome! The last time I saw DJ::SL, “it” was a cyborg… today Moni kept asking me where the avatar came from and I said it was a stock noob, which she found shocking…

        Turns out… while I was sipping mai tai’s at my tropical retreat over the weekend DJ::SL got a makeover! :P

        Sooo… yes… the flickr group should keep our many offices “in the loop”… and there’ll be less stuff to retract later… hahaha… if THAT matters! :P

        Anyway… you can look at the flickr group, which won’t have a unified theme yet… but maybe something will spark and avatar idea for you… and then really, run with it any way you want.

        Like all those old surrealist games, this has an aspect of playful storytelling… for example the jarring transition from DJ:=Robot in one frame, to DJ:=Babe in the next was easily explained with “I didn’t feel like spending an hour putting on flesh, so I just went dancing in my exoskeleton”

  7. Cymre
    February 21, 2012

    Great first shot! I couldn’t place it either

  8. kamalia
    February 21, 2012

    Love that shot from the scary room in BoT before the annoying squabbling dragon brats :P

    And, yeah, those other avatars are kind of Uncanny Valley. eep!

    • ironyca
      February 21, 2012

      Yes! Kamalia wins!
      The screenshot is indeed from Bastion of Twilight and judging from the date, it is likely to be from the very first raid I entered in Cataclysm.

  9. kamalia
    February 21, 2012

    Oh, and you are in the center of the picture as a Shaman in Ghost Wolf form, and you are using the Far Sight ability to put the camera on the ceiling to get the shot.

    • ironyca
      February 21, 2012

      Haha correct, I am a ghost wolf, however the camera was actually just turned downwards. I think if I had to use Far sight, I would have to drop out of ghost wolf.

  10. Pingback: And the Number of the Counting Shall Be Six | Martha.net

  11. Syl
    February 28, 2012

    Awww Ironyca, thanks – how I wish I hadn’t been on a break during this!! =( I would’ve loved to join for the screenshots, such a fun event!

    *sad panda*

    • ironyca
      February 29, 2012

      Regardless Syl, good to see you back!

What's your opinion?

Information

This entry was posted on February 20, 2012 by in Opinion and Discussion and tagged , , , , , , .

Instagram

This book has been recommended to me by several people. Time to get started! Roskilde LEGO Mindstorms. I'll be playing with this thing tomorrow!

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

