Ironyca Stood in the Fire

A WoW blog about Minecraft. And games in general. And avatars. And Life online. And…

I’m Attending a Games Conference Tomorrow

It’s not one of those showcasy industry ones, instead it’s an academic conference by DiGRA (Digital Games Research Association) and I’ll be volunteering! As far as I know, that means preparing conference rooms, taking registrations and similar. I’ve never been to a conference like this before, so it’s a big thing for me.

After writing this post, I’ll be packing my bags to go to Utrecht tomorrow evening. Then I’ll be attending the 3½ days the conference lasts and then a day trip to Amsterdam.

There will be panels on a wide variety of topics and I’m already excited about more events than I can actually attend. It feels like it’s a music festival, only the concerts are discussions and presentation events and everything is about games in one way or another. That’s like a festival that only plays your favourite kind of music!

Below I’ve cut out the events I’d be interested in, just to give an idea about what will happen, WoW and Minecraft is mentioned several times and there’s even a session on animal play!

In total I’ll be out of the country for 6 days, away from VisualRoleplayGear, away from this blog. This means my Solo Play series will have to pause for a weeks time. When I get back to it, I will move on to why people don’t play a single-player game since they play alone anyways and finally the question of how the multiplayer atmosphere affects solo play.

I’ll also be writing a post about how this conference went, my first stay at a hostel and going to Utrecht, which looks to be a beautiful place. I’m a nerve-wreck right now and I’m suspecting I’ll be standing in the airport of Amsterdam tomorrow and not really understanding what the heck is going on.

Wish me luck! a good trip!

7 comments on “I’m Attending a Games Conference Tomorrow

  1. Döra
    September 12, 2011

    Woo! Sounds like you are going to have an amazing time! The topic that really caught my eye was the ‘Player Typology’ one, but they all sound absolutely fascinating. I do hope you have a great time & good luck from me – not that you will need it :D

    • ironyca
      September 12, 2011

      Yeah player typology sounds really interesting, I’m definitely going to aim for that one. And thanks Döra, maybe wishing good luck is an unfitting expression, I’m not even presenting myself, haha. Oh well, a little tail wind never hurts.

  2. tomeoftheancient
    September 12, 2011

    Oh, have fun! Can’t wait to hear about it when you get back.

  3. Rades (@_Rades)
    September 12, 2011

    That does sound very interesting and like it will be a lot of fun! Enjoy! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it afterward. :D

    • ironyca
      September 12, 2011

      Thanks, I’m moving further and further from nervous to more and more excited. It’s going in the right direction!

  4. Zinn
    September 13, 2011

    Ohhh they all sound very interesting. If something like that came my way I’d hate myself if I didn’t manage to get in somehow, volunteering if possible for sure! Hope you have loads of fun and maybe even a small report on the interesting bits when you get back ;)

What's your opinion?

Information

This entry was posted on September 12, 2011 by in Personal and tagged , , , , .

Instagram

Christmas dinners Old computer science textbook from The Old Town in Århus, '74 section. Wore dark lenses on Halloween to see how my colleagues reacted. My natural eye colour is blue. Some didn't notice anything different. Some could barely look me in the eye, cause it freaked them out.

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

